Parenting Principles WE ALL should KNOW!!!

 

 

Your attitude should be the same as that of Christ Jesus . . . taking the very nature of servant” (Philippians 2:5-7)
A good servant is a good steward of the gifts from God.

Synopsis:

Lead Your Family like Jesus is a book that couples should read prior to their marriage.  The book tells how couples should present their vision of the family to their children and reinforce it throughout their lives.  This book provides guidance from three people who present their ideas from a biblical standpoint but from the view of a single teenage mother and two leadership consultants.  This book also includes snapshots from other parents and what they do to that supports the suggestions of the authors.

Reflection

I enjoy reading books and most books I will read the first couple of chapters and then the last chapter of the book.  This gives me an idea of what the book will be about and if I want to read the book.  I did not do this with this book AND I SHOULD HAVE. The reason I should have is because I am the parent of two young adults.  As I read the book I kept beating myself up for not following some of the principles, not being stricter and for being more self-serving than serving my family. All the while wishing I had read this book when I was a young mother, even though both of my children have learning disabilities and health issues.  The last chapter speaks about forgiveness, principle 12 is Moving On. 

Parents who are at the early stage in their marriage or about to have children need to hear about this at the beginning of the book.  Once I read the end of the book, I went back and read the book and forgave myself.  This is a book that everyone should read and it is for everyone, but I would encourage parents of young adults to start with Principle 12 and then go back to the beginning of the book. 

Leave a Reply

