This is HARD!!!!

Habitually Seeking God

April 11, 2013
 
Let’s be honest, okay?  Establishing a new habit is hard.  I am at the point where I am tired of the habit of seeking God.  I seek him in the morning and then I write about it at night.  Please don’t misunderstand, I would seek God in the past.  Not just when things were bad, but I will say that was the quickest way for me to come to the throne.
 
In Chapter 10, Lead Your Family Like Jesus, Ken discusses how to stay close to God.  As I reviewed the chapter for this blog, I realised that I am not just going for one principle, I am really trying to implement an entire section: 
 
 Part IV The Habits.  
1.  Solitude:  Be still and know that I am God.  
2.  Prayer: a conversation with God and Ken suggests ACTS as a way to pray.
A: adoration
C: confession
T: thanksgiving
S: Supplication
Actually, this follows another template, The Lord’s Prayer
3.  Studying and Applying Scripture:  How does the Bible affect you on a daily basis?
4.  Accepting God’s Unconditional Love
5.  Involvement of Supportive Relationships
 
Reading this section over again made me want to discontinue the process making it my habit to meet with God each morning and evening.  They are mainly selfish reasons.  I do enjoy solitude and prayer, I realise that steps 3-5 are difficult for me especially as a parent.  I look at my children and realised that by not following God as I should have, by implementing steps 3-5, they lost out.  
 
I know that God has forgiven me for my lack as a parent, but I pray that he will restore my relationship with my children.  I would like them to go out in the world and practice all five steps.

 

Leave a Reply

